Erin eating Cannelloni – Sat. Oct. 25, 2015

Tonight Erin wanted some Trader Giotto’s Ricotta & Spinach Cannelloni which she had bought on her last excursion to Trader Jo’s. She shared some with me and wanted to know how I liked it. Erin really liked it, but it didn’t quite compare with what I had in Spain in 1962 or in Italy in 1998. I have very fond memories of those 2 experiences.

In 1962 I travelled for 2 weeks with my French friend Marie-Cécile and her younger sister and another friend of theirs. (Hi, M-C, if you are reading this!) We had visited her older sister at a beach house in La Escala, Spain, on the Costa Brava. We then drove in M-C’s deux chevaux Citroën to Valencia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citroën_2CV
We camped out for 4 nights, each night pitching a tent on hard ground using “pics”. The campgrounds were open lots, not in the forests and parks that I was used to in California where I had never slept in a tent. We arrived in Valencia exhausted. We stayed at a lovely old hotel with an open cage elevator. And that Sunday afternoon… I had cannelloni for the first time … delicious!

In Assisi, Italy, in 1998 my sister, Patricia, and I had gone to visit the mountain retreat where St. Francis used to go to pray. On our walk back down to the city, we came across an isolated restaurant on the road side, and I had a marvelous cannelloni made with homemade pasta. Oh well, I guess Trader Giotto will have to do for now.

Barbara

2 thoughts on “Erin eating Cannelloni – Sat. Oct. 25, 2015

  1. Janet Keeter October 25, 2015 at 18:58 Reply

    You’ll have to see if Pietro’s has canneloni!

  2. bcwgolf October 25, 2015 at 19:09 Reply

    Good idea! I’ll have to put that on the list for next year.

Leave a Reply

