Are they on TV?

Erin sent me a text message about 11:30 this morning that said “Are they on TV?”  I didn’t know what she was talking about, but then thought that maybe she was talking about the papal election, so I turned on the TV to see white smoke billowing from the Sistine chapel ceiling and heard that the new pope was from Argentina!  Steve’s folks are from Argentina and Erin loves Argentina, so she was thrilled with the election, and was familiar with him from 8 years ago.

In class today, Paco’s teacher told him that the new pope was from Argentina and that his name in Spanish is Francisco, Paco’s given name.

Barbara

2 thoughts on “Are they on TV?

  1. akacolleen March 13, 2013 at 23:35 Reply

    Given that the new pope is a Jesuit, I assume his name is an homage to Francis Xavier. However, I learned today (while I was procrastinating doing actual work) that the nickname Paco originated as a reference to Francis of Assisi, whose name was written down as PA-ter CO-munitatis (father of the community) by his order.

    100% true albeit unsubstantiated beyond Wikipedia.

  2. Tom Z March 14, 2013 at 13:20 Reply

    I told Dean & my Mom that I think we should call him “Pope Paco” or “Papa Paco.”

    Dean was amenable to the suggestion; couldn’t get a good read on Mom.

Leave a Reply

