I Love It When a Plan Comes Together

Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2009

Geraldine’s plan. For those of you don’t know, 15 years ago, I was her assistant in London. Our Director was a challenging alcoholic with questionable morality. Geraldine is ethical and solid. For 15 years our friendship has just continued to grow. In 2003, she married Michael, a wonderful man, and their wedding was a glorious celebration. Geraldine came to mine, and I made it to hers in England. Spending time together goes fast. Paco loves Michael and Steve and Michael talk cars for hours.

Geraldine’s brother, a fantastic survivor of cancer, lives in LA. So she and Michael just flew up from LA for a few hours. They were concerned about wearing me out but did not want to miss the chance. Originally, we were supposed to go to the UK for a party in January, but between the economy, the treatments and forgetting to get Tom a passport (oh my goodness) the trip is off. So they came to us. It was a brief but wonderful visit. We had lunch in Old Sac and the boys went to the car museum while Geraldine and I chatted. I was overjoyed when Colleen and Babs dropped by to see them. I think it put Geraldine at ease to see what I had at fingertips. Mom and Colleen came independently, on about 2 hours notice. I just felt blessed and luckier than ever. Tom won Geraldine and Michael’s hearts as soon as they saw him scream, then conquer hunger by eating bread. And Paco has known them since October 2005. And we see them at least once a year.

I have sleep to catch and gifts to wrap. Also, tonight I am on alone baby duty for the first time since the surgery. Steve and Paco went to Shannon’s for the night. It is our annual tradition; we fill a room with beach balls, usually on Shannon’s birthday. The kids are happy and the moms sip champagne. And we eat cake.

I don’t know why I don’t have much fear of the future. I know it won’t be easy, but I seem to get verification of a good life every day. Good Husband, Good Family (thanks for the email Kitty!), Good Friends. Better get Tommy that passport. I can travel in Western Europe for 10 day trips. Just enough time to see friends in the UK, and cousins in Cork. That will be my next international trip, I dream of it.

One thought on “I Love It When a Plan Comes Together

  1. Tom Z & Dean L December 23, 2009 at 21:46 Reply

    Wait, your annual tradition is to “fill a room with beach balls”? Is that a metaphor?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

